I received via email a request from Fr Ger Fitzgerald concerning four war veterans who lived, in their retirement years, in Castleconnell, Co. Limerick in Ireland. Their names are Brigadier Edward Galwey Warren, Captain Gerald Dighton Bailey, Lt. Col. M.E.W. Thackeray, and Col. Stacpoole.

Fr Fitzgerald explains: “The four veterans I speak of are all dead. They died in the 70s. My research is for a small publication I intend to write about the retired British generals who would have lived around my own area locally, in Castleconnell, Co. Limerick. They were WWII veterans although, I believe they may well have fought in both wars.”

If any of you reading this has any information to give, please send me an email giving your permission to forward your email address on to Fr Fitzgerald so you can establish correspondence.

Thanks,
micheailin
saoirse32@fastmail.fm

