BBC
30 May 2012

The widow of murdered policeman Stephen Carroll has said she will meet the parents of one of his killers.

Kate Carroll said the parents of 41-year-old Brendan McConville got in contact with her through a newspaper because they were moved by her story.

“I don’t know what I’ll be saying to them but I don’t wish them any harm, and I think it’s very commendable of them to want to speak to me,” she said.

“It’s a brave thing to do and I hold no malice for them.”

Constable Carroll, 48, was shot dead in Craigavon in March 2009.

Brendan McConville was given a 25-year minimum sentence for murder, while his co-accused John Paul Wootton, 21, was jailed for a minimum of 14 years.

‘Forgiveness’

Mrs Carroll said she was delighted when she heard of the McConville family’s offer because she hoped it would “promote peace between communities”.

“If people can see there’s forgiveness on each side, I think it can help to heal the scars in this country,” she said.

Mrs Carroll said she hoped their meeting, which was first reported by the Banbridge Leader, would also help her with her grieving process.

She said she had not spoken to McConville’s parents during the trial, but they had “nodded at each other a few times”.

“Mrs McConville had opened the door for me one day, but I hadn’t a clue who she was,” she said.

“They just seemed to be nice, decent people.

“I realise now that bad things can happen to good people.

“I’ve had my husband taken from me by their son, and I suppose they’ve had their son taken from them for what he has done.”

